A Sabermetric Primer

Pags and Nick have asked me to contribute blogs with a more analytical or sabermetric basis. I am by no means an expert, but I love baseball statistics and I have self-educated myself accordingly. I’ve decided that my first contribution would be a brief primer about some of the terminology and advanced statistics I like to use when evaluating baseball.

Sabermertics

Sabermertics is the analysis of baseball through statistics.

OPS (On-Base plus Slugging)

OPS is a quick and easy to read statistic that approximates a player’s performance at the plate. OPS is exactly what its name says: on-base percentage plus slugging percentage. The average OPS in Major League Baseball is usually around .750 with anything above .900 being elite.

WAR (Wins Above Replacement)

WAR is an all-in-one stat that approximates a player’s total value to his team. It measures the number of wins a player has added to his team over what a “replacement player”, or minor league/bench player, would add. An average major leaguer contributes 3-5 WAR with anything over 7 being elite.

FIP (Fielding Independent Pitching)

FIP was developed on the theory that pitchers have little control over where the ball goes after it is hit into play and the only things a pitcher can control are strikeouts, walks, and homeruns. FIP measures what a pitchers ERA would look like if that balls hit into play were consistent with the league average. Simply put, it evaluates a pitcher based on his strikeouts, walks, and homeruns.

Those are just a few of the thousands of advanced statistics that are out there. They are the ones that I will use often in my posts. As I learn about new and refined statistics I will keep us updated.

Lastly, I’ve included a list of good baseball statistics websites I use:

http://www.baseballprospectus.com

http://www.baseball-reference.com

http://www.fangraphs.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

